MarineDiscoveryWest

MarineDiscoveryWest, the Department of Fisheries' community and schools education program, operates at the Naturaliste Marine Discovery Centre (NMDC) and at many other locations around the State including Broome, Busselton, Bunbury and Albany.

Our education team and our Fisheries Volunteers develop and deliver learning programs about WA's unique and fragile aquatic environments, our precious fisheries, the science that underpins management, and, of course, how to fish and live sustainably.

Whilst the programs and activities address outcomes in the learning areas of Science and Society and Environment, they will also cover outcomes in the other learning areas.

Our learning programs are based on current science and data generated by scientific research, and are supported by the Department of Fisheries' Research Division and the WA Museum.

If you would like to find out more about MarineDiscoveryWest or the Fisheries Volunteer program, please contact:

Michael Burke, Community Education and Volunteer
Coordinator - (08) 9203 0342
Email: michael.burke@fish.wa.gov.au

For details of NMDC educational activities contact:

Carina Gemignani, Community Education Officer - (08) 9203 0341
Email: carina.gemignani@fish.wa.gov.au

To find out more about school excursions at the NMDC please click HERE

For details of regional educational activities contact:

Pilbara/Kimberley Region:
Justine Holmes, Community Education Officer - (08) 9193 8600
Email: justine.holmes@fish.wa.go.au

Metropolitan Region:
Alicia Edwards, Community Education Officer - (08) 9432 8023
Email: alicia.edwards@fish.wa.gov.au

Southern Region:
Michael Burgess, Community Education Officer - (08) 9752 2152
Email: michael.burgess@fish.wa.gov.au

Albany/Esperance:
Kylie North, Volunteer and Education Activity Coordinator - (08) 9841 7766
Email: kylie.north@fish.wa.gov.au

Did you know - Jellie